In by Alex Bourne

Kirk Fisher enjoyed his time in the 1995 MSR so much that he invited his best friends to come up for the 1996 race, which lead to an Anchorage domination of the race. Anchorage men swept the top five, while a trio of Anchorage women captured the top three in their division. Marcus Dunbar won the men?s race with a time of 31:12, while Debbie Mumma won the women?s race with a time of 38:05. Tina Devine was the top local woman, coming in fourth with a time of 40:24, while Bob Murphy was the top local man to cross the finish line, finishing in sixth place with a time of 33:00.

?I?ve been waiting for years for a good group of guys from Anchorage to come run this,? Murphy told the News-Miner after the race. ?I only wish they would have done it when I was younger.?