In by Alex Bourne

If the men?s winner of the 2001 MSR looked somewhat familiar, that?s because he was just recently on the cover of Running Times. One of the top distance runners in the country, LeMay came in second in the 1996 Olympic Time Trails in the 10,000 meters. His PR for the 10K is a 28:00. Fortunately for 1990 and 1992 winner, Rick Wilhelm, LeMay was not in his best shape for the MSR, although he was in good enough shape to finish with a time of 31:39. Wilhelm took second with a time of 32:23. The women were led by Susan Faulkner, who finished with a time of 39:49. A good time, but nothing compared to what she would do the next year.